After 2.5 years... Flexibility, durability, product value.. I'm still impressed!

Hi gang,

2.5 years ago (yes, I checked :wink:) I picked up the Modeler edition of Visual Paradigm’s Smart Development Environment for NetBeans, which I ran on Linux (Ubuntu). My main motivations for the why and how can even be seen in a previous post below.

I’ve been active on this forum for a while but eventually work and personal issues got the best of me, and a lot of stuff has changed since then. Moved to another town, started my own firm (I knew it was a good idea to pick up on Modeler; which allows for commercial usage! :mrgreen:) and even replaced my Linux workstation entirely for Windows 7 (which replaced Vista on my windows pc).

I’m still no professional programmer, but programming is still taking up a big part of the stuff I do. And I just felt writing up how much I appreciate that in those 2.5 years your product covered my back BIG time. I’m truly impressed with flexibility, and… oh well: see subject for the list :stuck_out_tongue:

Seriously; Flexibility… I’ve been using Linux as a workstation for years. I did everything there; programming, network administration, writing letters or documentation (OpenOffice FTW!) and everything else I don’t want to mention here :mrgreen: As such I’ve started using SDE on Linux as well, that’s when I got my modeler license.

Things changed. When running your own company its no longer fun if you need to spend several days on upgrading your workstation (which is what happened to me when trying to upgrade Ubuntu LTS 8 to version 10). After 1 day I gave up and decided to move everything I used over to Windows 7 (I was using the professional version for a while by then). Moving over NetBeans was easy; simply installing the new product since its free of charge anyway. How about VP SDE ?