First thing to do in defining Business Process Model

Hi all,

I am kind of new in the business process modelling. Actually, I am an IT person who is try to solve office’s problems. To make it clear, I’ll tell you my situation.

In the company I am working for, I saw a fundamental problems in the process of defining business process. In the normal way, department in charge of making rules (says department R) will try to see problems or potential problems and try to solve it by producing a new formal rules. In order to implement the new rules, department in charge of business process (says department B) will produce new standard operating procedures (SOPs). Department R using the new rules and SOPs will ask IT department to adjust existing applications or create new applications.

In the process of developing new applications we (IT department) will follow our basic SDLC procedures from defining requirements, creating URS, SRS and SDD. Finally, developers will develop the applications, conducting internal test before User Acceptance Test and then launch the applications.

The problem is, when we defining requirement, which is basically base on new rules and SOP, often, we see some important things are missing. For example, in registration procedure, when a condition is met, the next procedures are clearly defined, but when the condition is not met, it is not clearly stated what to do. When we try to communicate this problem with department B, they says that it is not clearly defined also in the new rules provided by department R. Therefore, in doing so, they need to communicate with department R, and department R will produce new rules. The process will start from the beginning, and so on.

What I see here is, defining business process properly is not only good for department B, but also good for department R. In doing so, a problem of “other conditions” are not clearly anticipated will be avoided, in early stage (in the stage of defining new rules).