Just another SDE succes story :-)

Hi there,

I’ve been using Visual Paradigm’s SDE-NB[/url] (the [url=http://www.visual-paradigm.com/product/sde/nb/modeleredition.jsp]Modeler Edition) for a good month now and I’m very pleased with the product. And so after discovering the feedback forum I felt that some comments were in order :slight_smile:

First a little recap… I’ve been developing in Java for a good 4 to 5 years now, even though I’m not a full time developer. My main profession is systems engineering but since some of that involved massive Solaris administration the link to Java was quickly made. I’ve been using Java for private and business projects, ranging from simple IRC bots right to specific company software used for webserver monitoring and database administration.

After my projects became more and more complex and NetBeans introduced their UML plugin I started to fully adopt UML for a lot of things. UML really helps me to keep track of my project, focus on the important details but most of all: keeping a good overview of the ins and outs of my project and to make sure that I have and keep sufficient documentation around, should I ever need for someone else to pick up where I left off.

Everything went just fine right until the controversial NetBeans version 6 came out. Version 6 did have a lot of improvements in comparison with the previous 5.5.1, but at the same time also lacked a lot of important features. 6.1 made things a lot better, that was also my queue to look into an upgrade (I was still using 5.5.1 back then) and when 6.5 came out I finally made the switch as well. 6.5 addressed all the problems which 6.1 brought with it. All except one…