More information needed

Hi,

I am new to the world of UML, I need a new software development tool for my company, we are currently using VB.NET, our biggest problem is that the code generated by one programmer can not be edited by another.

We are normally develop stand-alone type program, client-server type and web-type. I am looking for and development tool that will give me the flexibility of this environment (meaning interoperability should be easy).

we normally use MySQL, SQL or Accesses database only.

Can you assist me in selecting the right tool offer by your company.

P.S - Sorry if this question is asked in wrong forum, I’m just short of time and need direct assistance.

M.Pathma
Managing Director
Promosys Technology (M) Sdn. Bhd.

Dear M.Pathma,

Thank you for your message. According to your description, two of our products can fit your need, they are

SDE Professional Edition for Visual Studio (SDE PE-VS)
DB Visual Architect .NET Edition for Visual Studio (DBVA NE-VS)

Both of the above products can embedded into Visual Studio to provide seamless integration. The different is SDE is the full UML CASE tool + database modeling support, and DBVA is only a database modeler.

Both SDE PE-VS and DBVA NE-VA support generate Object-Relational Mapping (ORM) layer in .NET (C#) out of class diagram, ERD or existing database. As you are using VB.NET, you can build the ORM layer to dll and use it in your VB.NET application. The ORM layer helps you to do all the object persistence work so that you can focus on develop the business logic. The ORM layer can be use in both standalone and web applications. The ORM layer can work on most of the database on the market, including MySQL and SQL Server (not support Access). More details about the ORM layer can be found at

http://oldresources.visual-paradigm.com/orm.html#net_orm