Suggested Workflow?

Dear VP:

I am new to using VM-UML and have read all three PDF documents available for download. However, none seem to mention the Textual Analysis diagram in any detail.

My question is this: What is the normal progression from one diagram to another?

For example, I have a problem statement. I type that problem statement into the Textual Analysis diagram. Then I create “Candidates” from the statement. I then assign roles/stereotypes to each of the Candidates. So what is next? Do I then go create a use case diagram? Or do I create a “Business Workflow” diagram?

Is there a suggested logical progression from Textual Analysis onward?

Is there a tutorial that demonstrates this scenario (from Textual Analysis to implementation)?

Thank you,

• William Bloodworth

William,

There are several ways to skin this cat :-). From an analysis point of view this is how you can go about it.

You created the candidates from your statement (I assume these are the actors) You do not have to assign stereo types to your actors. Actor name should describe the role of the actor eg. Accountant, Product manager etc. I use stereo types to differentiate between system and non system actors.

What you can do next is start with Use Case diagrams. These are the business requirements, keep in mind Use Cases are more about describing the requirements than about the pretty pictures. The use case diagbrams are to document the interaction between some outside actors and the system.

Than you can go to sequence and collaboration diagrams they show the internal workings of the scenario (basic paths or main success scenario).

All this stuff you document in a requirements document (business and functional)

Once they are done developers will do their thing in creating Class diagrams, state diagrams etc. This is one way of doing it.