Access model through Eclipse plug-in

Hello,
I wrote a plug-in for VP-UML and had it working successfully. It uses the openapi classes to expose model and diagram details. I’d like to use SDE-EC instead of VP-UML, and am trying to port my plug-in to Eclipse. Admittedly, I am pretty new to plug-in development. I’m starting with the very simple ‘Hello World’ plug-in as a starting point. This means that my Eclipse action class implements IWorkbenchWindowActionDelegate, whereas my VP-UML action class implements VPActionController. I’m pretty sure that this is dictated by the extension point declared by VP-UML. Anyway, I don’t get very far with the new approach, as I can’t get a real object from the com.vp.plugin.ApplicationManager.instance() method.
Is there some detailed documentation on how to go about this correctly?
Thanks very much -

Brian.

Hi Brian,

Could you send me your plugin, and let me know where did you put the plugins folder at? We would like to test your plugin and find out the problem for you.

You can send to my email address:
jick@visual-paradigm.com

Best regards,
Jick

Hi Jick,
I tried sending this as an email, but it was bounced. No matter, here’s the content of the message:
Thanks for the help with this plugin issue. I made an effort to provide a minimal example for you and perform a sanity check of my approach. I found a post elsewhere that indicated that I should be able to deploy my VP-UML plugin without modification as a plugin in SDE rather than writing a plugin specifically
for Eclipse. So I downloaded one of the sample plugins provided by VP (http://www.visual-paradigm.com/edocs.jsp?url=content/product/extend/samplePlugin/vp_menuitem_plugin.zip&resourceType=document&resourceDetail=pluginUserGuide). I first deployed it in VP-UML, which worked as expected. I then deployed
it in /sde/plugins as suggested by the other post I read. What I expected to see was a new menu item in Eclipse called 'Sample Menu 1.'