Automatic Primary Key Value Generation

Hi Everyone,

I am new to VP and am trying to figure out exactly how I go about creating a unique value for a primary key. The user’s guide that comes with VP mentions the ID generator property in the column definition screen, but is vague. Does the VP generated code actually generate a unique identifier value? If so, what are the correct settings? This is my guess as to how it is done, if in fact VP supports this feature:

Column properties:

name: personID
type: int
ID Generator: native
Generated: always
included in primary key: yes
unique: yes

Also, we are using SQL Server, which has the ability to perform the same service using the Identity column property (set to true) and using the function NEWID() as the default value. My question is, using the column properties in VP, how can I implement this? My guess is that the following properties must be set:

name: personID
type: int
Default Value: NEWID()
ID Generator: insert
include in primary key: true
unique: true

Can someone shed some light of this poorly documented feature? Has anyone used SQL Server and VP in this manner? Has anyone used VP for this purpose? Is there more documentation on the subject?

Thank You -

Ricky Miller
Edison Chouest Offshore

Hi rmiller511,

Thank you for the post. Let me reply your questions one by one.

To create a unique PK that will be generated automatically, you need to set “native” as the ID Generator of the PK column. Of course, you need to include that column in primary key. Please read the attached image as reference.