Class > ERD: column naming / composite key

Hi Community,
I am a student from germany and currently evaluating VP. I am interested in modelling classes in UML in order to generate the java and database code with the persistence layer.

Now I am running into some problems:

1. Association: Automated naming of the table columns:
UML-Model > Java works very well. The attribute name of the classes is defined by the role name of the association. But when I generate the ERD, the name of the column (the foreign key) is the exact name of the primary key the column refers to. My problem is, that if one class has 2 associations to one other class (e.g. departure, destination), VP will make primarykeyname and tablename+primarykeyname out of it. This isn’t very meaningful. I don’t want to fix the ERD by myself, because then I have to do it whenever I change the UML model.

2. Defining PK in UML
I am not sure how I can say VP which attribute should become the primary key. Only when I create a new class, start the wizard (/Tools/Object-Orientied-Mapping(ORM)/Wizards…) then I can assign the attributes. But only once! I wasn’t able to find where I can change the PK afterwards.

3. Association class / composite key

There is a n-n association between 2 classes in my model (2x 0…n) and there is an association class attached with no further attributes. Unfortunately the genereted ERD has no primary key for the association class and of course, the db generation fails. The 2 foreign keys have to be the composite key. After fixing the ERD and syncing with the class diagramm, the code generation works, but I can not find any difference in the uml model. Maybe this is the same issue as point 2.

Thanks in advance for helping me. Maybe you, the VP crew, should add an up-to-date and more complex sample. The UMLNotations.vpp project is supposedly an older version and I miss a <> scenario with the hibernate layer.

:slight_smile:

HI duff_beer,