Missing feature in the view editor

Hello,

yesterday I encountered what I consider an unnecessary and severe limtation in VP. I am currently running V13.1, build 20160606 - which is the current build, if I’m not mistaken.

I am currently using the ERD Designer for data modeling. For the sake of simplicity, let’s say I have 2 tables (T1, T2) which are connected by not one, but 2 one-to-one relations, as follows:

T1.F <—1:1—> T2.F1
T1.F <—1:1—> T2.F2

Modeling this with the ERD Designer is not an issue. The issue arises when trying to build a view reflecting that situation with the view editor, due to the following restrictions:

1. It does not seem to be possible to use more than one instance of an entity in the view editor
  2. The view editor cannot be used to define aliases for entities, only for columns
  3. Also, the view editor does not allow you to use a view as an entity

Admittedly, I am not an expert VP user yet, thus I might be missing some features.

So here’s my question: Am I indeed missing something, or is this really a missing feature?

Thanks in advance for any help/suggestions.

I’m sorry that the issues you experienced are the current limitation in our view editor. I’ve pass your case to our engineers to evaluate the possibility to support this, and I’ll keep you post once there are any feedback from our engineers. Feel free to contact me for any questions and wish you have a good day!

Best regards,
Rain Wong

[quote=Rain]I’m sorry that the issues you experienced are the current limitation in our view editor. I’ve pass your case to our engineers to evaluate the possibility to support this, and I’ll keep you post once there are any feedback from our engineers. Feel free to contact me for any questions and wish you have a good day!

Best regards,
Rain Wong[/quote]

Dear Rain,

thank you for your reply.