Some suggestions for the switch and merge windows

Hello,

we have purchased Visual paradigm modeler, standart and team server for a team with 30 professionals, who are drawing diagrams with agile method. Therefore we want to create branches for each projects and merge them to trunk when finished. We think it will help us a lot if you could add the following features to the switch and merge windows:

  1. The number of branches can be huge and it is difficult to find a specific branch in the switch window (see screenshot) when there are many branches . It will help us a lot if you could add a search box to the switch window. With this way users can switch quickly.

  1. When a user has finished merging the branch to the trunk, it will help a lot if the source branch could be deleted (after success merge) by using a checkbox, which can be selected by the user. A checkbox “delete source branch after successfull merge” in Merge window can be usefull. With this way the number of branches can be steady instead of growing.

With best regards
seyhmus

Hi Seyhmus,

Thank you for your suggestions with the detailed description and screen captures. I am going to forward your post to our team for further feasibility studies. When there is any news, I will let me know.

Best regards,
Jick Yeung

Hi Seyhmus,

Your first suggestion has been supported. To obtain the change, please update to the latest patch build (16_3_20211010cp or higher). To learn more about updates, please read:

The feature works almost in the way you suggested. Just some tips: You can use asterisks to represent wildcard characters. For example, in your case, enter “* Seyhmus_2” will return “gisem_Seyhmus_2”.

Hope this helps.

Best regards,
Jick Yeung

1 Like

Hello Jick ,

That is a great news thank you very much for your support and collaboration.

Regards
seyhmus

Hello Seyhmus,

You’re welcome. For the second suggestion, our team has discussed and we prefer not to add that option because the deletion of a branch should be well considered and we expected users to take a look at the merged result as well as to review the changes in the branch before the deletion. Therefore, It would be better to perform the deletion separately instead of making it part of the merging. Anyways, thank you for your suggestions.

Best regards,
Jick Yeung

Hello Jick,

Thanks for the considation and feedback. Have a nice day .

Regards
seyhmus