State Diagram

Hi,
Please know in advance that I am a beginner on using state diagram.
I was using a state diagram to for a different state to state transition. The problem I am facing is that I do have a different ways of exit action. But I don’t want to draw multiple transition for a single state. For example, I may have 10 ways of going from one state to another state. So drawing 10 transition will be crazy right? So I wanted to just use multiple triggers using just one transition. That was good except, the trigger action is displaying in the transition name filed. And that doesn’t look pretty at all. Is there any ways to hide the triggers or is there a better way to handle a multiple ways with just one transition. Please help, I am going nuts.

Tena

Depends on the reason why you have several transitions connecting the two states. Are the actions taken identical for each transition? If yes then you may combine them into a single transition.

Normally events to a transition are generated by the action list from another transition. Otherwise they are externally generated evnts that are recognized by the system. If internal there should not be a problem - all are given the same name such as ‘exit from THIS state’. If external then I would sugest that each is causing a different action to occur and therefore it is not possibler to combine them into one.

Perhaps an example would help me understand the problem.

Leslie.

Thanks Leslie. I have found a solution to my previous question (using a target) or using Tag. But if you are familiar with state diagram, I have another question. Do you mind? :slight_smile: