State machine creation and code generation

Hi, there!

I am new to VP-UML and am most interested in state machine modelling and automatic code generation (C++). At first sight getting a state machine diagram done seems to be rather straightforward, but when I activate code generation I see I must have done something wrong. Some questions:

1 - is there a tutorial somewhere?

2 - how can one define a “compound”/super state (i.e containing a state machine itself). Do you necessarily have to employ a “submachine state”?

3 - how do you define the start state of such a state?

4 - I tried using submachines to no avail. The generator complains the state does not exist. How you go around them?

5 - simply adding (call) triggers to transitions seems to have no effect. The only thing that works for me is specifying the “operation” property of transitions. What triggers are for then in VP-UML?

6 - is there anybody out there that has ever had a nice experience using VP-UML to generate state machine code?

Thanks in advance. Cheers,

Jorge.

I’ve finally found some demo animation on state machine creation on the VP-UML site, which sort of clarified the use of triggers. Now what most interests me right is composite state implementation.

I’ve learnt that composite states are created simply by “adding a region” to a state and then dropping other (inner) states there. However, it seems code generation does not support the concept at all, which includes e.g. History states. Am I right or do I miss something?

Thanks in advance. Cheers,

Hello Jorge,

Thanks for your message. For your questions:

1. you can find the document/sample of the state code feature at
    http://content.europe.visual-paradigm.com/media/documents/vpuml61ug1/html/Chapter_12_State_Machine_Diagram_Code_Generation/Chapter_12_State_Machine_Diagram_Code_Generation.html

2, 4. currently we do not support generate code with submachine state. You can define nested state to achieve similar effect.