The Unified Process and UML

Hi, folks.

I am fairly new to UML and even more so to design methodologies, such as the Unified Process. However, I am versed on object-oriented design realized through object-orient programming. In other words, I’m more of a programmer than a software engineer. As such, I’ve decided to learn UML in earnest and use it to apply various design methodologies, and my first real attempt is to design a CD catalog application to track one’s CD collection. It’s meant to be a simple, single-user application. Therefore, I will deliberately forego any business modeling, as it is beyond the scope of this application.

On the first pass, I began to define use cases but then realized my thinking was steered toward use case models that “looked” like classes. I scrapped that idea. On the second pass, I documented a requirements model first. This was helpful, since I was able to describe the system without thinking about implementation.

Now, I realize a full requirements model includes both functional and non-functional requirements. However, I have thus far focused only on functional requirements, and here is why. In the spirit of the Unified Process, I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew. I’m thinking that I should being with an iterative approach to an architectural solution in small steps. Therefore, after I defined most of the functional requirements (at least the important core requirements), I began building a use case model that traced to these requirements. For each use case, I provided a short description, external requirements (traced back to the functional requirements), constraints with pre-, post- and invariant conditions, and scenarios.