UML 2.0 Diagram Interchange - XMI Export

Hello,

I have a question concerning the XMI-Export Function of Visual Paradigm-UML. After exporting my Class-Diagram and regarding the generated code, it seems that VP doesn’t support the UML 2.0 Diagram Interchange Specification.
Although you adopt the -part in the exported XMI-File representing my Diagram. It seems to me that this adoption is only for the representation in VP itself and of course the eclipse-VP-extension because you scarcely use anything of the Diagram Interchange Specification Namespace.

Am I right with this assumption??? It would be very helpful if you would answer me this question as soon as it is possible.

Thank you very much

Hello Gelareh,

Our current XMI works well in exchanging model data (including diagram data) with most of the other applications. May I know what’s wrong with it? Could you give me some ideas what is the real usage of supporting Diagram Interchange Specification? Since I am not an expert in XMI, I hope this question won’t be too silly to be asked about…

Best regards,
Jick

thank you very much for the answer. As you wrote it is possible to import the semantics of an UML-Diagram into other tools, but not the representation layout.

I’m working on my thesis to transform XMI-Files into SVG. For this contract and for the visual representation of UML-Diagrams in general you need to support the Diagram Interchange Specification, which currently is supported by Poseidon for UML. So their generated XMI-Files can be transformed into SVG, because all the needed Diagram-Layout-Informarion are indipendent of Poseidon.

My question is, if the -part of your XMI-files are enough to do such an transformation, as I’m intended to do??? My impression is, that it is not possible to do so, because of the -tag. The generated file seems to be for the representation of the Layout only in VP.

Here you will find the Diagram Interchange Specification of OMG: