Use Cases Include exclude confusion

Hey all,

I’m pretty new at UML and working on the following project:
A train traveller can register himself on a website where he can enter the train he will take and his cell phone number. A dispatch at the train company registers all train departure and arrival times. If these times are delayed then they are reported. If the reported delayed trains are the same as the trains the user registered for, he will receive a message on his phone that his train is delayed.

Now the delay warning on his phone is only possible if he registered before and the delayed train reporting by the dispatch center is only possible if they keep track on all train times.

I partly understand what include (uses) and extend mean but im having trouble placing the arrowhead correctly.

Thanks for any help,

grts

Thibaut
nmbstimesys.pdf

Includes always points from the including use case to the use case which is included and extends always from the extending use case to the extended one, just as you would read it: “UC1 includes UC2” or “UC1 extends UC2”.

BTW: The arrowheads you use are meant for the generalization relationship (which doesn’t have a label attached to it). Extends and includes have “open” arrowheads. Also, the relations in a use case model are not quantified, hence there are no asterisks.