Yes, that’s exactly what it implies. See, the reasoning behind this is to give you a relatively easy way to not only create complex projects but to also keep those projects manageable. One key feature of Visual Paradigm is its information management. VP is much more than merely a modeling tool; it’s just as much a massive information management system (as I like to call it). Almost every model element can store so called “meta data”, in other words: extra information concerning that object:
Now, this is a very simple example. I have a use case and I added a description. Just trust me when I say that VP can go much deeper than this. Anyway: if I were to constantly copy this model element in other diagrams (so: a real literal copy) then things could go horribly bad if it turns out that my description needs an update. Maybe things changed or something extra is required.
When you have dozens of copies you’re now also looking at dozens of edits in order to change each and every single model element.
Well… That’s something Visual Paradigm does “a little bit” smarter
One master element (the real one) and virtual copies elsewhere (auxiliary views). Change one and everything else also gets changed. So it doesn’t matter what you change, it goes back and forth. Basically all elements behave the same.
Depends on your settings. Default behavior is to never delete a model element which still has views assigned to it. And to ask you if you really want to delete a model when deleting its view.
Simple answer: you can’t “simply” lose a model element by deleting it if you don’t want to. If you delete a master view element then you’ll keep the auxiliary view(s) available in your diagram(s). The master element isn’t even really deleted, but simply unassigned from the current diagram.
So although you won’t see it in any diagrams anymore you’d still see it in the project browser and the model explorer pane. It’s basically moved back into your “model repository”. Default behavior is to have it ‘locked’ there because of its associated views (the auxiliary views). In other words: if you try to delete the master view then Visual Paradigm will simply ignore your request because of its settings (it has views assigned to it so can’t be deleted).
Of course this behavior can be changed in the application settings.
I hope this is still easy enough to follow. The whole view concept is a little bit abstract and can be difficult to grasp at first.